My photo
Rafferty Records is based out of Nelson BC, and is busy churning out content all the time. Check the posts below for episodes of Jesse's hip hop radio show, mixes by Rafferty Funksmith, and other random stuff. Stay tuned.

Saturday, December 31, 2011

Aesop's Fables EP

Another holiday EP folks. 8 tracks, 15 minutes. These EPs are getting shorter and shorter, but also better I hope.

It's called Aesop's Fables. Tracklist:

1 Aesop's Fables
2 That Rumba
3 Transparent Backflipping Camels 3
4 Ambiguity
5 Up On The Hill
6 Transparent Backflipping Camels 4
7 The Tinker's Lament
8 Elevator Chase

Jesse did all the stuff you hear: keys, guitar, bass, drums, manditar*, violin, viola, scratching, sampling, programming, recording, & composing. Plus he recorded it all on half-inch tape, for that je ne sais quoi he's always on about. If you record something onto tape with the level too high, it compresses rather than clips. Tape compression is lovely. For example, the piano on the last track is recorded "too" high...

Thanks for checking it out my friends. Drive safe. Happy New Year!

* combination guitar and mandolin. Shaped like a mandolin, looks & sounds like one, except it has 6 strings rather than 4 pairs, and the strings are tuned like a guitar rather than a mandolin.