My photo
Rafferty Records is based out of Nelson BC, and is busy churning out content all the time. Check the posts below for episodes of Jesse's hip hop radio show, mixes by Rafferty Funksmith, and other random stuff. Stay tuned.

Sunday, June 15, 2008

All Your Bass #13: Ladies in the House

number 13's all female rappers. Lauryn Hill, Queen Latifah, Monie Love, Kinnie Starr, Eekwol, Eternia, Roxanne Shante, and more.

It's the dopeness. Download it here.

Wednesday, June 4, 2008

Crate Kings meets CTI

CTI was a record label through the 60s and 70s (going bankrupt in 1978). They released some good ol' fashioned funky jazz and stuff. Notable artists include Idris Muhammad, Bob James, Grover Washington Jr., Hubert Laws, Freddie Hubbard, Joe Farrell, Seawind, and Deodato.

Some of the fellows over at the Crate Kings forums put togther a little project of hip hop instrumentals and interludes sampling artists from CTI and its subsidiary label, Kudu. This is one of those collaborations made possible by the internet; none of these people, so far as I know, have ever met in real life (which I've heard referred to as "meat space"). Rafferty was responsible for hanging all the tracks together. Check out the cool cover art by Figment above.

01) 00:00 Rafferty -- Introduction
02) 00:41 Figment -- Ladies & Gents (cuts by IllStylus)
03) 01:56 p.illa -- CTI Project 1
04) 02:51 SoulSyde -- Jekyll & Hyde
05) 04:07 Panamacanal -- Murdergrid Almost Done
06) 05:13 MrFloyd -- Throw It On Now
07) 05:48 Rafferty -- All Up On It
08) 07:34 Chi-Stey -- Hiberto
09) 09:10 SoulSyde -- Bootleg
10) 11:09 IllStylus -- CTI Again
11) 12:33 Figment -- Roadways
12) 13:47 Panamacanal -- Super CTI vs the Madd Scientist
13) 15:45 Big Family -- We Ain't Free
14) 16:59 MrFloyd -- Disco Beat (Rafftronic Remix)
15) 18:30 Figment -- Feel Like
16) 20:10 Mach3Beatz -- CTI Entry
17) 22:58 Piecemakuh -- '93 Sound
18) 25:25 Rafferty -- I Might Be Back
19) 26:35 Figment -- Rest Of Your Life
20) 28:43 OliverTone -- Diggin' Piece Of Mind
21) 32:51 a drum interlude
22) 33:06 MrFloyd -- Laws Rain
23) 33:57 Figment -- Deodato Beat
24) 36:12 Panamacanal -- Goes to Visit Idris Muhammad

total running time 40:05

Check it out, these guys came correct. Totally free and everything, of course. Download it here!

This is the second Crate Kings project; don't sleep on the Crate Kings vs. Henry Mancini mixtape you guys. Seriously.

Monday, June 2, 2008

All Your Bass #12 with Doc Mackay

new show is up.

Doc Mackay'd just returned from the Sasquatch music festival, and he and I played some hip hop artists from that show: Cancer Rising, Dyme Def, Blue Scholars, M.I.A. Also Souls of Mischief, Cut Chemist, etc.

Here it is.